Blokkhed Animation

Wednesday, 27 August 2008

The Green Gang. Shanghai. Opium.


Shanghai was the original Sin City due to its association with Opium and vice. This image is about the Green Gang in old Shanghai which was under the leadership of Du Yuesheng [known as 'Big Ears'].
There's a bit of Art Deco again here as well as other influences [I watched Marlene Dietrich in Shanghai Express recently which was beautiful to look at-and a great film of course].
I'm trying different things out at the moment and this is a companion image to the one in the previous post. I hope to do more in this vein again.

Blokkhed

www.blokkhed.com

Monday, 11 August 2008

Shanghai. Sin City. Poster. Glamour. Danger. Art Deco


Shanghai, the original Sin City. The 1920s and 30s was an era of turmoil with enormous social and political changes taking place. Shanghai had an aura of both glamour and danger which is so evocative of the period [the rule of the Green Gang is something I'll hopefully explore later]. Art Deco was again partial inspiration as was the imagery of Shanghai and China in the movies of the period like Lost Horizon and Shanghai Gesture.

Blokkhed

www.blokkhed.com

Wednesday, 6 August 2008

Art Deco Poster. 1930s Radio Mystery.


The Stroller, Art Deco style. Who is he? Why does he stalk the streets at night? What mysteries does he explore?
It started as a Pulp style character but has now become more art deco, which is ok with me. I'll explore the Stroller again some other time, maybe even take a look at his face...maybe...

Blokkhed

Pulp Fiction. The Shadow. The Whistler. Fantomas. 1930s Radio Mystery. "The Stroller" in the Fog.


The Stroller in the Fog. Radio Mystery 1930s style. In the vein of The Shadow, Fantomas, The Whistler and all the Pulp Fiction mystery detectives/thieves/strange characters that proliferated then. The Stroller patrols the night and narrates strange stories of weirdness and danger. The Stroller lives in the fog and disappears like a thief in the night. Who is the Stroller?

Blokkhed

Tuesday, 5 August 2008

Art Deco. Poster. Suspense. Pulp Fiction. 1930s Radio mystery. "The Stroller"


"The Stroller" in The Night of Lost Souls. An enigmatic and ghostly character who introduces and narrates strange stories of mystery and suspense. The Stroller is in the same pulp style as The Whistler and the The Shadow. I really like the 'strange' stories of weird suspense and "The Stroller" is as enigmatic. The poster is in an art deco style and colours. Using a limited palette is interesting to do and Ludwig Hohlwein and Spanish deco were also inspirations.
Who is The Stroller? Where does he come from? All may be revealed at some time.

Blokkhed